Posthumous Jimi Hendrix LP features 10 unheard tracks

586 days ago

A posthumous Jimi Hendrix album featuring 10 unheard songs is to be released.

The record, titled 'Both Sides Of The Sky', will arrive on March 9 on Sony Legacy and sees Joni Mitchell appear on 'Woodstock' among other collaborators.

Bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles from the 'Purple Haze' hitmaker's group Band of Gypsys, also feature.

And original members of The Jimi Hendrix Experience group, drummer Mitch Mitchell and bass player Noel Redding, are on 1973's 'Hear My Train A Comin''.

The guitar legend - who chocked on his own vomit and died at the age of just 27, one of the first rock stars to join the famous cult 27 club, in September 1970 - posthumously released 2013's 'People, Hell and Angels' and 2010's 'Valleys of Neptune', filled with tunes from his archive.

This 13-track LP, which concludes the trilogy, contains recordings produced between January 1968 and February 1970.

Renowned engineer Eddie Kramer - who has worked with the likes of The Beatles, David Bowie and Eric Clapton, to name a few, over the years - worked with Hendrix on all of his releases, and co-produced the record with the late star's sibling Janie Hendrix and producer John McDermott.

Kramer said it was a "distinct pleasure" to be involved Hendrix's final posthumous release.

He commented: "Jimi's true home was the studio - that's where the music and the magic happened.

"He loved everything about recording, and it's been my distinct pleasure and an honour to play a part in that process both then and now."

Eddie Kramer

The full track-listing for 'Both Sides Of The Sky' is as follows:

  1. 'Mannish Boy'

  2. 'Lover Man'

  3. 'Hear My Train a Comin'

  4. 'Stepping Stone'

  5. '$20 Fine'

  6. 'Power of Soul'

  7. 'Jungle'

  8. 'Things I Used to Do'

  9. 'Georgia Blues'

  10. 'Sweet Angel'

  11. 'Woodstock'

  12. 'Send My Love to Linda'

  13. 'Cherokee Mist'



Recently heard on air

Lupe Fiasco - Superstar (feat. Matthew Santos)

ON AIR NOW PLAYING Lupe Fiasco - Superstar (feat. Matthew Santos)
Recently played